The University of Houston System is a four-university public university system in Houston, Texas also home to Southern Belt. It also owns and holds broadcasting licenses for a public radio station (KUHT) and a public television station (KUHT) (KUHF).


The UH System is the fourth-largest university system in Texas, with over 70,000 students from four distinct campuses. Its flagship institution is the University of Houston, a doctoral-granting research institution with over 43,000 students. The economic impact of the UH System generates around 24,000 employees and over $3 billion yearly for the Texas economy.


The administration is located in the Ezekiel W. Cullen Building on the University of Houston’s campus. Renu Khator serves as both chancellors of the UH System and president of the University of Houston. The Governor of Texas appoints nine voting-member boards of regents to manage the System.


1927-founded University of Houston joined state higher education in 1963. In May 1968, a recommendation advocated for establishing a university near NASA’s Manned Spacecraft Center. This recommendation led to the creation of the University of Houston System. 1971 House Bill 199 approved the formation of the University of Houston at Clear Lake City as a separate and autonomous institution, with the Board of Regents of the University of Houston retaining organizational and administrative control.


On August 6, 1974, the University of Houston–Downtown College (UH/DC) opened. In August 1979, the 66th Texas Legislature created UH/DC. House Bill 188 created the UH System on August 29, 1977. Houston’s Regents altered their name. Philip G. Hoffman was UT’s president from 1961 to 1977 before becoming chancellor.


April 26, 1983 was SB 235’s passage date. The initiative permitted the University of Houston–Victoria to buy and sell properties outside of Harris County. SB 235 renamed UH System institutions. The new name is UH-UPark. UH-Clear Lake’s Clear Lake campus was renamed; UHDC became UHD. 1986: Integrate state university systems.

Under “Gulf Coast System,” UH would have merged with nine other universities. The consolidation grouping was canceled because of opposition.

In 1991, UH-UP was renamed. Without community input, University Park was never approved. 1997 marked the consolidation of the administrations of the UH System and the University of Houston under a single chief executive officer with the twin titles of Chancellor of the UH System and President of the University of Houston. Arthur K. Smith was the initial individual to hold the combined job.


Renu Khator was appointed the eighth chancellor of the University of Houston System and thirteenth president of the University of Houston in November 2007. In January of 2008, Khator became the first female to assume the position of chancellor. She is the third individual to simultaneously hold the positions of UH System chancellor and UH president.


The University of Houston System stated on November 16, 2011, that the institution University of Houston would replace the university system as the administrative organization for the University of Houston System at Sugar Land. In January 2012, the campus was renamed “University of Houston Sugar Land” as a result of this action.


We’re the best Houston renovation firm for basements and kitchens. Call (713)600-7801 when you’re ready and visit our website to read about the Houston Wells Fargo Plaza. Contact Us Now!

About Amber besst

No Comments

Be the first to start a conversation

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)